

THE CARMEN'S AWARDS

The full listing of Awards presented

THE VIVA SHIELD

...for the invention, principle, development, production, implemented system or other idea which contributes most notably to the advancement of transport in Europe, with particular reference to road transport, up to and including the current year.

The Company's premier award. It comprises a silver mounted shield, with winners' details on the plinth, held for one year only, and a framed citation, retained by the winner. The award was founded, and the shield donated, by the late Reginald Bezzant, FRGS, MInstT, when he was Master in 1956/57. From his death until 1981, the Award was administered by his son, Norman Bezzant, who was Master in 1968/69

(Year* refers to year awarded. Awards are presented in March the following year, normally at the Mansion House)

Year*	Recipient	Citation
2015		NOT AWARDED
2014	Mercedes F! Team	For excellence in F1 capturing both the team and drivers titles.
2013		NOT AWARDED
2012	The Games Transport Board	Who delivered unparalleled personal mobility, from the Royal Family to every athlete, official, VIP, commentator, helper or spectator during the 2012 Olympics
2011	Heatherwick Studio, Wrightbus Ltd and Transport for London	for the New Bus for London, designed to succeed the iconic RouteMaster
2010		Not Awarded
2009	Advanced Transport Systems Ltd.	for its Ultra Personal Rapid Transit System conceived at Bristol University, trialed at Cardiff, and operational at Heathrow
2008	McLaren Mercedes	Achieving the Drivers Championship for 2008
2007	Highways Agency	for its active traffic management pilot on the M42

Year*	Recipient	Citation
2006	Transaid	The organisation, for resolving difficulty facing children's charities in the third world, by equipping, training and funding indigenous transport
2005	Wright Group, Volvo and First plc	StreetCar, a new articulated single deck bus.
2004	Rolls Royce Motor Cars Ltd	for the all new Rolls-Royce Phantom motor car
2003	Jaguar Motors	The new aluminium XJ
2002	British Waterways	The Falkirk Wheel. The world's first rotating boat lift
2000	The Royal College of Art	Leading Source of automotive creativity
1999	Toyota (GB) PLC	The hybrid Toyota Prius car
1998	Royal Mail	RAILNET System for letter mail
1997	Thrust SSC Team	Supersonic on land and World Land Speed Record
1994	Eurotunnel	The Channel Tunnel
1993	Thames Utilities Ltd	London Water Ring Main
1992	Land Rover Limited	Range Rover and Discovery vehicles
1991	International Automotive Design	Cleanair L.A. 301 hybrid
1989	The Rover Group	K Series Engine Family
1986	GEC – Mowlem Railway Group	Dockland Light Railway
1985	Liveryman T.L. Beagley, CB, MA, FCIT	Establishment of the European Society of Transport Institutes
1984	Transport & Road Research Laboratory	SCOOT Area Traffic Control System
1983	The West Midlands County Council	MAGLEV Transportation System
1982	The Royal Corps of Transport	Transport support of the Falklands operations
1981	Lucas Industries PLC	Automobile Component Engineering
1980	Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive	The Metro
1978	Sir Freddie Laker	Skytrain
1977	The Motor Industry Research Asociation	Crash Test Development

Year*	Recipient	Citation
1976	British Railways	High Speed Train
1975	Transport & Road Research Laboratory	Computerised Control of Traffic Signals
1974	The Shell Company Limited	Development of Shellgrip Road Surfacing Material
1973	The Dunlop Rubber Co. Ltd.	The Denovo Tyre
1972	Professor W. Gisane	Founding the Birmingham Accident Hospital
1969	W.H. Lindsey, MA, of Rolls Royce Limited	Marine Gas Turbine Development
1968	Automotive Products Company Limited	Design and Development of the Automatic Transmission Gearbox
1967	J.F. Allan Baker, BSc, MICE, MIMunE	Pioneering the British Motorway System
1966	Sir Gilbert Roberts, BSc, FRS, MICE	Advancement of Suspension Bridge Design
1965	Lt. Col. Frank Bustard, OBE	Pioneering Roll On/Off Shipping Services
1964	Sir William Glanville, CB, CBE, DSc, FRS, MICE	Road Safety and Traffic Research
1963	O.A. Kerensky, CBE, BSc Partner, Freeman Fox & Partners	Design of the Medway Bridge
1962	British Motor Corporation Ltd.and Mr A Issigonis	Mini Cars
1961	Dr. Albert Fogg, DSc, MIMechE	Work on behalf of the Motor Industry Research Association
1960	Sir Christopher Cockerell	Invention of the Hovercraft
1959	John Laing & Son Limited	Construction of the M1
1958	De Havilland Aircraft Company Limited	Comet IV Jet Airliner
1957	Dr. E.M. Dodds, MA, DSc, MIMechE, MSAE	Lubricating Oil Research

